Meet & Greet with Author Jacqueline Friedland

Jacqueline Friedland imageJoin us for a Meet & Greet with author Jacqueline Friedland on Saturday, August 4th, from 1-3pm. Her debut novel, Trouble the Water, has garnered lots of attention and wonderful reviews since its release in May, 2018. The book took Silver at the 2018 Independent Publisher Book Awards for Best Regional Fiction South.

Jacqueline Friedland holds a BA from the University of Pennsylvania and a JD from NYU Law School. She practiced as an attorney in New York before returning to school to receive her MFA from Sarah Lawrence College. She lives in New York with her husband, four children, and a tiny dog. This is her first novel.

About the Book:

When a young woman travels from a British factory town to South Carolina in the 1840s, she becomes involved with a vigilante abolitionist and the Underground Railroad while trying to navigate the complexities of Charleston high society and falling in love.

Review Quotes:

..". will seize readers from the first page and not let go." 
-- Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of Paulette Jiles and Julia Quinn will adore this triumphant novel of intrigue, secrecy, and redemption." 
-- Booklist

"With compelling characters, a charming peek into Charleston society, a heart-racing romance, rich historical detail, and an epilogue that will have you holding your breath, Friedland has written a well-crafted novel that will stay with you long after you turn the final page." 
--Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway GirlsThe Balance Project, and On Grace

"Friedland is a modern Bronte sister remixed with Kathleen Grissom or Leila Meacham. Trouble the Water is the riveting story of Abby, who travels across the sea, fleeing Liverpool, poverty, and an unsavory uncle, for Charleston, where a wealthy friend of her father, Douglas, lives. Douglas has pledged himself to the fight to end slavery, and for that, he has made the ultimate sacrifice. Abby fights inner demons and tries to find her place in Charleston high society while her brooding guardian reconciles the past and returns to his beloved cause. Lovers of Civil War-era historical fiction will rejoice at Friedland's triumphant novel of love, friendship, and the most important issues of the day." 
--Bethany Ball, author of What to do About the Solomons

Event address: 
332 Stockbridge Rd
Great Barrington, MA 01230
Trouble the Water Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781943006540
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sparkpress - May 8th, 2018