The Echo Wife (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Echo Wife Cover Image
$24.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


“A trippy domestic thriller which takes the extramarital affair trope in some intriguingly weird new directions.” - Entertainment Weekly

I’m embarrassed, still, by how long it took me to notice. Everything was right there in the open, right there in front of me, but it still took me so long to see the person I had married.

It took me so long to hate him.


Martine is a genetically cloned replica made from Evelyn Caldwell’s award- winning research. She’s patient and gentle and obedient. She’s everything Evelyn swore she’d never be.

And she’s having an affair with Evelyn’s husband.

Now, the cheating bastard is dead, and both Caldwell wives have a mess to clean up.

Good thing Evelyn Caldwell is used to getting her hands dirty.

About the Author


Hugo Award-winning and bestselling author Sarah Gailey is an internationally published writer of fiction and nonfiction. Their nonfiction has been published by Mashable and The Boston Globe, and they won a Hugo Award for Best Fan Writer. Their fiction credits also include Vice and The Atlantic. Their debut novella, River of Teeth, was a 2018 finalist for both the Hugo and Nebula Awards. Their bestselling adult novel debut, Magic For Liars, was published in 2019.

Praise For…


Advance bookseller praise for The Echo Wife

"A razor-sharp psychological thriller... Gailey's expertise with suspense and their success in presenting the reader with impossible choices about the ethics of cloning, biological programming and editing, and of Evelyn’s specific, difficult situation, will leave the reader thinking about the novel long after the final page."—Booklist, starred review

"For those familiar with Gailey's work, expect this one to offer familiar pleasures and some new surprises. And for those who aren't, well, get ready." —Entertainment Weekly

"Creepy, exhilarating science fiction... A series of dark reveals that leave both the characters and the audience reeling. Readers won't want to put this one down." —Publisher's Weekly

“Fans of The Wife Between Us and Black Mirror will love this brutally human story of betrayal and revenge!” —Jessica Dushame, White Birch Books

“Sarah Gailey continues to astound and unsettle with THE ECHO WIFE…[it] leaves you missing the bus stop, reading at dinner, and squirming in your seat uncomfortably…and I
“A great debut . . . a unique spin on magical noir.” —The Verge loved every moment of the experience.” —Mariana N Calderon, Second Star to the Right Books

The Echo Wife is a speculative thriller reminiscent of Ex Machina that’ll have dark thoughts sliding under your skin and remaining there indefinitely.” —Leah Atlee, Bright Side Bookshop

Praise for Magic for Liars

“An eerie and highly entertaining magical mystery." —Buzzfeed, Summer Books to Get Excited About

“A brilliant whodunnit in the vein of The Magicians.” —BoingBoing

“It's Harry Potter meets Megan Abbott.” —The AV Club

“A great debut...a unique spin on magical noir.” —The Verge

"A private investigator takes a job investigating a murder at a magic school in California. Our PI never developed magic ability, much to her dismay—so we enter that world with the same longing for specialness that she does. Whether it’s the 'murder investigation' part of that summary that grabs you or the 'magic school' part, this winsome, clever book will definitely engage you."--Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times best-selling author of the Divergent series

“Full of suspense and magic, with a protagonist as sharp and tart as a lemon, Sarah Gailey has written an unmissable debut.”—Adrienne Celt, author of Invitation to a Bonfire
“I loved Sarah Gailey's Magic for Liars…it broke my heart, and I longed for the world of this story anyway.”—Kat Howard, author of An Unkindness of Magicians

“Weird and wonderful…Sarah Gailey is a writer to watch.” —Chuck Wendig, New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Aftermath



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250174666
ISBN-10: 125017466X
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: February 16th, 2021
Pages: 256