A Secret History of Witches: A Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
A Secret History of Witches: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Bookseller: Zazu
Title: A Secret History of Witches

Comments:
This book is so much more than the title alone implies - I gulped it down in 2 days, though it's also the PERFECT book to sink into and stretch out over a long winter!

Historical fiction at its absolute finest, this book follows the story of 5 generations of Romani women - mothers and daughters over the course of changing centuries - who must endure the sexism and xenophobia inherent with their family legacy and the times. Each generation is extraordinarily unique in personality, desires, and goals, yet the obstacles they face repeat themselves, just in different ways.

The language twists and turns beautifully, allowing you to clearly envision the wind-swept cliff-tops, damp leaves swirling into a cave that offers refuge; to spy the twisted darkness deep in the eyes of a pristine, self-righteous priest; to feel both the aching love of a gnarled cat and the sudden vitriolic hate of a former steadfast husband that target women of every age.
Fans of Outlander, Practical Magic, and other female-empowered family sagas and historical fiction will never want to leave these deliciously absorbing pages.

Louisa Morgan, I await your next book with great anticipation!

— From Zazu's Past Picks 3

Description


A sweeping historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters -- witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.

Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mère Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her.

Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew.

The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.

But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.


"I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic.... Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time." -- Laure Eve, author of The Graces

About the Author


Louisa Morgan is a pseudonym for award-winning author Louise Marley. She lives in the Pacific Northwest where she and her Border Terrier, Oscar, ramble the beaches and paths of Washington State.

Praise For…


"At once sprawling and intimate, A Secret History of Witches deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters."—Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of The Immortals

"Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender in its portrayal of mothers and daughters... Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts and readers of feminist fantasy."
Booklist

"I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic if it had been set in various time periods, but much more expansive in scope. Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time."—Laure Eve, author of The Graces




"Epic relay race that gripped me from start to finish
. Fiercely uncompromising and unsentimentally poignant, A Secret History of Witches will transfix you."—Michael Bishop

"A moving multigenerational saga about strong women who work behind the scenes to save the world from tyranny. A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft."—Carol Goodman, author of The Lake of Dead Languages

"Morgan's transportive words will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss. Simply hold on and enjoy this mesmerizing ride."— Tish Thawer, award-winning author of The Witches of BlackBrook series

"An enthralling journey through time and the hearts of women with powers they must hide. Deeply moving and richly conceived. The secret is out. This is how it happened."—Kay Kenyon, author of At the Table of Wolves

"Historical fiction at its absolute finest.... Deliciously absorbing."—Boston Globe

"Poignant tale of mothers and daughters struggling to survive and preserve their craft in a hostile world. A tale full of love and betrayal, happiness and terror, it will keep you reading long into the night."— Melissa Lenhardt, author of Sawbones

"A grand family saga rich with historical detail and threaded through with magic. You won't want this book to end."—Sharon Shinn, author of Archangel

"A Secret History of Witches is an epic family saga that speaks to the strength of all women and the difference that one true heart can make, not only for herself, but for the world."—Marci Jefferson, author of Girl on the Golden Coin

"Fresh and unpredictable.... [Morgan] depicts with visceral impact the roles of women in a male-centered world."—Historical Novel Society




"A Secret History of Witches examines the bonds between mothers and daughters, and the power of hidden magic to quietly save the world, particularly as the world braces for another global war."—Brit + Co


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316508582
ISBN-10: 0316508586
Publisher: Redhook
Publication Date: May 2018
Pages: 528
Language: English