Eli Over Easy (Hardcover)

Eli Over Easy By Phil Stamper Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 17 10:05pm
(JMR-)

Description


From the acclaimed author of Small Town Pride, Phil Stamper, comes a heartfelt coming-of-age middle grade novel about grief, love, loss, and finding your way forward in the vein of Kate Allen’s The Line Tender and Jules Machias’s Both Can Be True.

The last few months have been pretty tough for Eli. He moved to New York City and left his small town in Minnesota with his extended family and everyone he knows. He hasn’t made any new friends. And his mom died unexpectedly, shattering his whole world. He misses Mom more and more every day, but Dad refuses to talk about her, leaving Eli alone in his grief. 

Then Eli finds a stash of instructional cooking videos his mom made, revealing her dream of being a celebrity chef. With the help of the cute new neighbor boy, Mathias, Eli decides to follow his mother’s recipes using her videos. If he can re-create his mom's special dishes, then maybe a part of her can stay with him forever. But what happens when the videos run out?

About the Author


Phil Stamper is the bestselling author of The Gravity of UsAs Far as You’ll Take Me, Golden Boys, Small Town Pride, and other queer books for kids and teens. He currently works in author development for a major book publisher in New York City, where he lives with his husband and their dog. Visit him at philstamper.com.

 

Praise For…


This inspiring story of grief and growth for the COVID generation broke my heart and then pieced it together one recipe at a time; Stamper doesn't shy away from the raw emotions of losing a loved one, and while Eli's journey is messy and complicated, his story is told with honesty and heart that leaves us healing right along with him. — Nicole Melleby, Author of WINNIE NASH IS NOT YOUR SUNSHINE

This hopeful yet realistic story of grief, love, and so many eggs follows Eli on the unpredictable path between loss and acceptance. From cracked shells and broken hearts to first crushes and feisty grandmas, this lovely book offers a lesson in how to land sunny-side up no matter what life dishes out. — Jules Machias, author of Fight + Flight

"A beautiful and heart wrenching examination of grief, growing up, and the joy of cooking!" — Claribel A. Ortega, New York Times bestselling author of Witchlings and Frizzy

"Eli Over Easy mixes the sweetness of a first crush with the bitterness of loss, and sprinkles in a colorful cast of loveable characters. Stamper has the perfect recipe for a heartwarming coming-of-age tale sure to leave readers with a taste for more." — Ali Standish, award-winning author of The Ethan I Was Before and Yonder

Stamper has written a gentle, warmhearted story with appealing characters and a clever premise. Bon appetit! — Booklist

Eli’s burgeoning self-expression—through both his cooking and his sweetly developing relationship with Mat—shines through in this tender, low-conflict drama in which Stamper (Small Town Pride) portrays myriad grieving processes and experiences with sensitivity and care.  — Publishers Weekly



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063118836
ISBN-10: 0063118831
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English