Forever, or a Long, Long Time (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Forever, or a Long, Long Time Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Bookseller: Julia
Title: Forever, or a Long, Long Time

Comments:
Forever, or a Long Long Time is about two adopted children, who have lived in foster care most of their lives that have to learn to be part of a family, to be with people. To get to that point they go searching into the past to discover what they don't remember. Where they come from, who has loved them and how they were found by their adoptive mother.This story is heart-wrenchingly beautiful and precious. It's about trauma, family, childhood, love. Follow Flora and Julian on a journey to find trust and accept their forever home.

— From Julia's Past Picks 2

Bookseller: Julia
Title: Forever, or a Long, Long Time

Comments:
Forever, or a Long Long Time is about two adopted children, who have lived in foster care most of their lives that have to learn to be part of a family, to be with people. To get to that point they go searching into the past to discover what they don't remember. Where they come from, who has loved them and how they were found by their adoptive mother.This story is heart-wrenchingly beautiful and precious. It's about trauma, family, childhood, love. Follow Flora and Julian on a journey to find trust and accept their forever home.

— From Julia

Description


3 starred reviews • A Kirkus Best Book of 2017 • A New York Public Library Top Ten Books for Kids pick • An ALA Notable Book • 2018 NCTE Charlotte Huck Honor Book

From rising star Caela Carter, author of My Life with the Liars, comes a captivating and heartfelt story about siblings who learn that love can never be divided, only multiplied.

Flora and her brother, Julian, don’t believe they were born. They’ve lived in so many foster homes, they can’t remember where they came from. And even now that they’ve been adopted, Flora still struggles to believe that they’ve found their forever home.

So along with their new mother, Flora and Julian begin a journey to go back and discover their past—for only then can they really begin to build their future.

Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach Me, Kathryn Erskine’s Mockingbird, and Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish

Praise For…


Carter’s sophomore novel gently weaves the heartache and confusion of abandonment with the struggle for love and acceptance. Poetic and meditative, this emotionally enthralling novel undresses assumptions with purpose and hope.

Carter delicately draws readers into the lives of a group of people overcoming obstacles as they learn how to become a family. The novel’s heart belongs to the relationship among Emily, Flora, and Julian as they learn how to trust and to meet one another’s needs.

This stunning portrayal of the circuitous path of trauma and healing teems with compassion, empathy, and the triumph of resilience

“Complex and well-rounded characters. Authentic.”

“This nuanced novel highlights the struggle to trust an adoptive family after a traumatic history in foster care.Carter’s layered narrative doesn’t shy from pain as it testifies to resilience and the expansive power of love.”

“Flora’s narration is deftly turned. The portrayal of kids whose lives have genuinely impaired them has grit and honesty as well as warmth, and it will open many readers’ eyes to the impact of trauma.”


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062385680
ISBN-10: 0062385682
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 7th, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English