2017 National Book Award Finalists

If you're like us, you've been watching as the National Book Awards judges choose their finalists before narrowing it down to one final winner in each category (to be revealed on November 15th). It's just like a literary playoffs bracket! 

Check out the finalists below. (And notice that our 2 Staff Picks have made the cut in the Nonfiction category!)

Fiction Finalists:

Elliot Ackerman, Dark at the Crossing 
Lisa Ko, The Leavers
Min Jin Lee, Pachinko
Carmen Maria Machado, Her Body and Other Parties: Stories
Jesmyn Ward, Sing, Unburied, Sing

Nonfiction Finalists:

(STAFF PICK!) Erica Armstrong Dunbar, Never Caught: The Washingtons’ Relentless Pursuit of Their Runaway Slave, Ona Judge 
Frances FitzGerald, The Evangelicals: The Struggle to Shape America
Masha Gessen, The Future Is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia
(STAFF PICK!) David Grann, Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI 
Nancy MacLean, Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right’s Stealth Plan for America

Young People's Literature Finalists:

Elana K. Arnold, What Girls Are Made Of
Robin Benway, Far from the Tree
Erika L. Sánchez, I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter 
Rita Williams-Garcia, Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
Ibi Zoboi, American Street

Poetry Finalists:

Frank Bidart, Half-light: Collected Poems 1965-2016 
Leslie Harrison, The Book of Endings 
Layli Long Soldier, WHEREAS 
Shane McCrae, In the Language of My Captor 
Danez Smith, Don’t Call Us Dead: Poems 

About the National Book Award

"Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization. A pantheon of such writers as William Faulkner, Marianne Moore, Ralph Ellison, John Cheever, Bernard Malamud, Philip Roth, Robert Lowell, Walker Percy, John Updike, Katherine Anne Porter, Norman Mailer, Lillian Hellman, Elizabeth Bishop, Saul Bellow, Donald Barthelme, Flannery O’Connor, Adrienne Rich, Thomas Pynchon, Isaac Bashevis Singer, Alice Walker, Charles Johnson, E. Annie Proulx, and Colum McCann have all won the Award." (From www.nationalbook.org)