Love in Lowercase (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Love in Lowercase Cover Image
By Francesc Miralles, Julie Wark (Translator)
$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Bookseller: Catherine
Title: Amos & Boris

Comments:

A well-written, quirky novel - I can see why this book is a best-seller in several European countries. The characters are eccentric, well-fleshed out and likeable. I have to admit that I became quite fond of the main character,  a professor of linguistics and German at a University in Spain. This would be a great book to read on a plane or at the beach!

— From Catherine

Description


A feel-good novel for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Rosie Project, about an eccentric, language-loving bachelor and the cat that opens his eyes to life's little pleasures

The Silver Linings Playbook author Matthew Quick:
"A delightfully absurd, life-affirming celebration. I literally stood up and cheered as I read the last page."

When Samuel, a lonely linguistics lecturer, wakes up on New Year's Day, he is convinced that the year ahead will bring nothing more than passive verbs and un-italicized moments--until an unexpected visitor slips into his Barcelona apartment and refuses to leave. The appearance of Mishima, a stray, brindle-furred cat, becomes the catalyst that leads Samuel from the comforts of his favorite books, foreign films, and classical music to places he's never been (next door) and to people he might never have met (a neighbor with whom he's never exchanged a word). Even better, the Catalan cat leads him back to the mysterious Gabriela, whom he thought he'd lost long before, and shows him, in this international bestseller for fans of The Rosie Project, The Solitude of Prime Numbers, and A Man Called Ove, that sometimes love is hiding in the smallest characters.

About the Author


Francesc Miralles is an award-winning author who has written a number of books, including, with Hector Garcia, the international bestseller Ikigai: The Japanese Secret to a Long and Happy Life. Born in Barcelona, he studied journalism, English literature, and German, and has worked as an editor, a translator, a ghost-writer, and a musician. Love in Lowercase has been translated into twenty languages.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143128212
ISBN-10: 0143128213
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: January 26th, 2016
Pages: 240
Language: English